Loading Events
San Antonio Public Library Foundation - Central Library 20th Anniversary Gala
  • This event has passed.

Central Library 20th Anniversary Gala

May 15, 2015 @ 5:30 pm

Join us in celebration of the Central Library’s 20th Anniversary milestone with a brilliant
Mexican Modern Gala under the Stars  

Friday, May 15, 2015 | 6:30 pm – Midnight at the San Antonio Central Library

Honorary Co-Chairs
Martha & Wilber Avant, Linda & Ed Whitacre, and Tracy & Judge Nelson Wolff

Liecie & Nick Hollis and Guillermo Nicolás

First Edition Society Co-Chairs
Elizabeth & Casey Fry, Catriona Morrison, and Marjory & Sam Newman

In May 1995, the San Antonio City Council voted, for the first time ever, to accept the idea of a blind international competition for the design of a new downtown library. Renowned Mexican architect Ricardo Legorreta was selected and his vision indelibly changed the City’s skyline. Since its inauguration the iconic Central Library’s bright-colored, striking “Mexican Modernist” design has attracted a great deal of attention in architectural and library circles.  Join us and celebrate the 20th Anniversary of one of San Antonio’s most well known educational institutions.

Silent Auction 6:30 – 9:30 pm

Attire: Colorful Cocktail Chic

We warmly thank our generous current sponsors:


Guillermo Nicolás & Jim Foster, Linda & Ed Whitacre


JoAnn Boone / Rio San Antonio Cruises, Liecie & Nick Hollis, Mike Lynd / The Lynd Co.
Neiman Marcus, John & Florence Newman Foundation / San Antonio Book Festival
Silver Eagle Distributors, Valero Energy Foundation


Malu & Carlos Alvarez, Beatriz & Raul Cardenas, Sandy East, Pat Flynn, Kye & Lou Fox, The Gorman Foundation
Janet & Rob Holliday, Laurie & Bill Kaufman, Joan & Herb Kelleher, Bekki & Greg Kowalski
Carol & Gerry Lavender, Kim Lewis, James Lifshutz, Dennis Martinez, Ann & James McMullan
Paula Miller, Ana Montoya, Melissa & Kelton Morgan, Teresa & Bill Reynolds
Lourdes & Tommy Rohde, City of San Antonio & San Antonio Public Library
Denae & Alex Schenker, Janice & Mickey Schott, Pat & Bud Smothers
Lori & Mark Wright, Anna & Todd Wulfe


80/20 Foundation, Maria Eugenia Cossio & Ardow Ameduri,
Berridge Manufacturing Company, Donna Block, Jean Brady, Susan Brothers, Capital One Bank
Margaret Anderson & Bill Crow, Colette & Ty Edwards, Sarah & Hugh Fitzsimons
Katy & Ted Flato / San Antonio Book Festival, Frost Bank
Elizabeth & Casey Fry, Cathy Obriotti Green, H-E-B, 
Hornberger Fuller & Garza, Incorporated
Terri & Gabi Khodr, Robert J. Kleberg and Helen C. Kleberg Foundation, Lake|Flato Architects
Alice Lynch, Bobbi & Stan McCormick, Angela McFadin, 
Catriona Morrison, Marjory & Sam Newman
Alice & Jimmy Norman, Hanna & Robert Rochelle, 
Shannon Murphy & Les Sachanowicz
Sam Schaefer, Barbara & David Shannon, Martha & John Sheesley
, Kate Sidney
Shannon & David Stephens, Laura Stout, 
Alice & William Robert Strunk
The Tobin Endowment, Bette & Jack Vexler, Aggie & Charles Wade, Whataburger


Akin, Doherty, Klein & Feuge, P.C., Susan & Ernie Altgelt, Sabrina & Alex Begum
Angelika Jansen & Bob Brown, Lisa Caldwell, Deborah & Neal Callanan, Betty & Jonathan Calvert, The Honorable Juli
án Castro

The Honorable Henry Cisneros & Mary Alice Cisneros, Lori & Richard Coiner, Sister Kathleen Coughlin, Dixie Starnes Wenger Foundation
Sarah & Bill Doerr, Rose Mary Fry, Nicole & Mark Greenberg, Helen Hicks Groos, Helen K. Groves
Doren & Ben Ruttenberg / Las Casas Foundation, Sherry & Ed Layman
Nancy Marion, Donna Martel, Paul Martin, Diane & Randy Mathews, Susannah & Steve McAllister
Janet & Mike Molak, Vicki & Jimmy Perkins, Robinson Value Management, Ltd.Andi Rodriguez
RVK Architects, Sprinkle & Co. Architects, 
Hannah & Brian Steward
Jordan Vexler, Jenni & Heath Wenrich, K.T. Whitehead


Genie & Ron Calgaard, Suzanne & Rick Cavender, Nancy & Charlie Cheever, Elizabeth & William Chiego, Mel Cohen, El Mirador
The John & Bette Foster Family Trust, Susan & Aubra Franklin, Franklin Park Senior Living, Henrietta Hildebrand
Candace & W. Michael Humphreys, Jean & Mel Kanninen, 
Greg Kowalski / RK Group, Ilios Lighting Design, Innovative Multimedia Group
Barbara C. Kyse, Helen B. Kyse, 
Laura Labatt, Barbara & Hart Lau, Lenka & James Lehmann, Milagro Tequila, Ana Montoya / AnArte Gallery
Judy Morton – Morton Companies, Neiman Marcus, Lucy & David Peveto, Professor D, Iris S. Rubin, Spec’s Corporate Giving
Speaker Joe Straus & Mrs. Julie Straus, 
Laurel Stuckey, Ruth Eilene Sullivan, Patrick Swearingen
Lisa & Karl Swann, The Society Diaries, Deb & Ken Torrington
William Grant & Sons, Wyndham Garden Riverwalk


May 15, 2015
5:30 pm
Event Category:

View All Events

Thank You To Our Supporters

© 2021 The San Antonio Public Library Foundation. All Rights Reserved.
San Antonio Website Design & Development - Backyard Studios